Donate or Ditch

I’m a very organized person and I’m exceptionally capable at just looking at a space or nook or room and knowing what will fit. I’ve met my match.

On paper we moved from about the same size house. 2 bedroom 1 bath with a detached 1 bedroom with garage storage, etc. But somehow it’s not translating so I’ve been forced to make some new decisions. Our guest room is loaded with boxes and so is our garage, yet our house looks and feels pretty complete. Sigh.

Despite my strong propensity for not collecting, and my massive pre-purge on Craigslist and my yard sale these last 2 months, I’m forced to really hunker down and decide what is important. Do I need 6 salad bowls, 7 bud vases and 11 candle-holders? I like to use the earthen-ware for my macaroni salad; I like to use the glass bowl for Mike’s annual cranberry sauce; I like to use the floral ceramic for a green salad. I mean really!! It’s all too much and just not necessary. I plan to keep 2. I’m fairly certain the earth won’t fall off its axis if I use the same bowl for macaroni and cranberries.

So I’ve made a vow: donate or ditch!

I challenge you to do the same thing. It feels good.

The other challenge I’ve been working on is to donate or ditch the things that I just don’t like. On a daily basis I dig through my pencil cup searching for my 2 favorite pens; passing over the dozen that I don’t like. Do I need 18 pens? No. So yesterday I tossed all the pens and pencils that I always avoid. The same is true with my lingerie drawer, kitchen utensils and pantry.  It feels good.

cds

But… I’m human and I do cling to a few last things that I really don’t need. My CD collection. They’re all imported into iTunes and they’re backed up on some cloud thingy so why do I keep them? I can’t help myself, so I plan to keep them just a little longer. And I justified it by hiding them in a piece of furniture that only gets open once every 3 years because I forget what I put in there. Maybe by 2016 I’ll be ready to let go.

3 thoughts on “Donate or Ditch

  1. I totally understand! I moved 3 times in 6 months and 10 days and I have donated or ditched so much it has finally rubbed off on Joe who keeps everything because he never knows when he is going to purchase a 1961 something and need that one bolt!

Leave a Reply

